The Futility

Posted: March 31, 2012 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , ,

Van Gogh cut off his ear for love, they say. Well, I don’t know about you, but I’ve always wondered if he wasn’t batshit crazy to begin with. Maybe art does that to people. Maybe I’m on the verge of an ear-lopping moment because of my art.

I’ve promoted my books to friends and family. Obligingly, they buy one…not two. Sometimes they tell me that they’ve bought a book. The stats tell another story. Still, they’re my family. They’re my friends. I can’t hold it against them that they’re not really interested in the genre; descriptive romance (erotica). I promote on Twitter, on Facebook, through Pinterest (though I’m not sure that’s entirely legal).

Next month I’ll be putting two books on Amazon. Right now they’re on Smashwords for a test run. Ah, back to the numbers. Dismal. Even with the golden coupon for a 100% discount the numbers are dismal. So, what’s that all about? Well, two things: the quality of the writing (maybe I suck), and a glut in the market. Every day of the week I can go to Amazon, Smashwords, or any other number of e-book vendors and find a free book. There are only so many hours in a day, and I know I can’t read them all. I’ve a “backlist” of books for my leisure time.

Friday is my reading day. I try very diligently to pick one book by a new author, read it, review it, and then clear my mind in order to begin writing again on Monday. I have a husband who would like to get a little attention from me, occasionally, and of course, since he’s a 1950’s kind of guy, there are other domestic obligations. After all, he supports my writing addition…and I love him for that.

I’ve never written a bad review for a new author. It’s just not in my nature to cannibalize. I believe in the psychology of offering three positives before a negative, and that negative is said in a positive way. That said, I wonder how many new voices are being drowned out because of the sheer number of new voices all shouting for attention. Some are downright annoying, and I’ve tried to avoid becoming one of those groan-inducing writers. Self-promotion is great, but I don’t want to force myself into one-sided portraits for the rest of my life because I cut off a body part for love.

Leave a Reply

